Navigate Up
Sign In

Police

Technical Services
 

 Property & Evidence

 
 

 CSI

 
 

 FAQs

 
 

 Tools of the Trade

 
Preview
Description
The latent print section uses AFIS on a daily basis to assist in the identification of unknown latent prints. Latent prints are searched against a state database maintained by the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.
The Latent Print Section uses a Fuji S3 Pro digital camera and a macro lens to capture images of latent prints. The camera is permanently mounted to prevent any movement with the settings preset for close up photography.
BLOODSTAIN PATTERN ANALYSIS can be used to find out if the victim was standing, kneeling, sitting or lying, by using  mathematical equations. It also can be determined how far away from the wall the victim was assaulted.
On all major cases a computer drawing is made of the scene. Currently, the SmartDraw Legal Solutions software is being used.
Fingerprint powder is the most common method used to collect latent prints. There are a large variety of colors available, but black and silver are used most often.
Footwear and tire impressions are first photographed using a tripod and scale. Then the impression can be cast with dental stone. The photographs and casts are submitted and can be used for comparison to a known exemplar (shoe).
Luminol is a chemical that is applied onto a surface in a darkened room to detect any presence of blood that can not be seen with the naked eye.
The Static Dust Lifter is used on any surface where there is an impression in dust.
The Super Glue Fuming Tank is used to process non porous items for latent prints. Non porous items include guns, plastic bags, bottles, tools, cans, etc. A temporary enclosure is assembled for fuming larger items such as bikes, windows, safes, etc.
 

 Current Employees

 
Preview
Description
Captain Gavin Seiler
Bureau Commander
Email: GSeiler@wichita.gov
Lt. Barry VonFange
Lab Supervisor
Email: BVonFange@wichita.gov
Cory Rodivich
Crime Scene Supervisor
Email: CRodivich@wichita.gov
Sgt. Stephen Patton
Crime Scene Supervisor
Email: SPatton@wichita.gov
Natalie Rowe
Crime Scene Investigator
1st Shift
Email: NRowe@wichita.gov
Jamal Bara
Crime Scene Investigator
1st Shift
Email: NBara@wichita.gov
Kevin Brasser
Crime Scene Investigator
1st Shift
KBrasser@wichita.gov
Lori Scott
Crime Scene Investigator
2nd Shift
Email: LAScott@wichita.gov
Chris Engle-Tjaden
Crime Scene Investigator
2nd Watch
Email: CMTjaden@wichita.gov
Anthony Decena
Crime Scene Investigator
2nd Shift
Email: ADecena@wichita.gov
Amy McCowan
Crime Scene Investigator
2nd Shift
Email: AMcCowan@wichita.gov
Anna Owen
Crime Scene Investigator
3rd Shift
Email: AOwen@wichita.gov
Charles Ulrich
Crime Scene Investigator
3rd Shift
Email: CUlrich@wichita.gov
Carla Patton
Crime Scene Investigator
3rd Shift
Email: CPatton@wichita.gov
Pam Huffmier - Photographer
Email: PHuffmier@wichita.gov
Jerry Ogburn - Photo Technician
Email: JOgburn@wichita.gov
Det. Tim Mitchell - Latent Print Examiner
IAI Certified
Email: TMitchell@wichita.gov
Det. Blake Mumma
Latent Print Unit
Email: BMumma@wichita.gov
Mindy Craig - Latent Print Examiner
IAI Certified
Email: MCraig@wichita.gov
Joetta Richardson - Property and Evidence
Section Supervisor
Email: JRichardson@wichita.gov
Paula Halstead - Property and Evidence
Clerk III
Email: PHalstead@wichita.gov
Anne Keazer - Property and Evidence
Service Officer
Email: AKeazer@wichita.gov
Joan Kyle - Property and Evidence
Service Officer
Email: JKyle@wichita.gov
Lynda (JoAnne) Redfield - Property and Evidence
Service Officer
Email: LRedfield@wichita.gov
Donna Wilcutt - Property and Evidence
Property Clerk
Email: DWillcutt@wichita.gov
Joan Yunker - Property and Evidence
Service Officer
Email: JYunker@wichita.gov
 

 History

 
Preview
Description
1962
Early 1970's to mid 1970s Chevy van 4th vehicle rt from lt side
1978 Plymouth Valaier Station wagon
1993 Chevy Van
2007 Chevy Van
In 2003 Crime Scene Investigator Dustin Calvin was the first CSI to be certified as a Certified Crime Scene Technician with the International  Association of Identification.
1n 1934 Wilson purchased a Keeler Polygraph and our department became known as the proving ground for the device.
On September 16, 1965, the Wichita Police Laboratory employed it’s first female chemist; Lindalea Morgan.
March 1977 Richard A. Cook became the first Certified latent Fingerprint Examiner for the Wichita Police Department.
The new patch, designed in 2004, reflects the Wichita Police Department mission statement, values and the community policing philosophy.
Original CSI patch designed by Pat Cunningham in 1993.
The vehicle had plaster casting materials, a fingerprint kit, a fingerprint camera, a microphone, and recorder for interviews, photo lighting equipment and various other items.
Harry Van Doren and Don J Fenney in the lab.
Original CSI patch designed by Pat Cunningham in 1993.
2000 Chevy Van
The Wichita Eagle if November 11, 1946, reported: “A criminal investigation squad-- modeled after those in “big” cities--will swing into action in Wichita today with four evidence-gathering specialists of the police department comprising the squad.
Lt. Leslie Wheeler services lab camera (1957).
Detective Vern Kush conducts a firearm examination.
1936 Chevy
In 1954, big changes were afoot in the departmental photography.
On February 7, 1976, the full time position of Document Examiner for the laboratory Section of the Wichita Police Department was created. laboratory Investigator James L. A. Maloney was selected to fill the position.
The Wichita Police Department sent its first officer to Hazardous Device School(HDS) in 1977. Detective Jerry Malter was certified as the first bomb technician in Wichita.
1988 Chevy Van
The Commander of the McConnell Air Force Base presented Captain Jordan D Jones with a plaque for the Wichita Police Department Forensic Laboratory.
From the United States Department of Justice
Departmental employee, Police Photographer Laura Sherwood, received the bronze Wreath of Meritorious Service in April 1959.
Wyatt Earp, Wichita Lawman, described by Bat Masterson as "absolutely destitute of physical fear". Photo courtesy of Famous Gun Fighters of the Western Frontier, by W.B. (Bat) Masterson.
A replica of Wyatt Earp's badge from 1870's Wichita.
 

 Retirees

 
Preview
Description
Vickie Abele
Latent Print Examiner
1995
George Anderson
Photographer
2005
Carl King
Detective
1989
Patrick Cunningham
Crime Scene Supervisor
2009
Dusty King
Detective
1978
Ronald Eggleston
Detective
1978
Donna Elson
Crime Scene Investigator
2006
James Fullerton
Detective
1993
W. H. Malone
Detective
1983
John Horn
Detective
1992
Larry Hudson
Detective
1991
George Katchis
Detective
1993
Jerry Malter
Crime Scene Supervisor
2006
Thomas Mayhill
Crime Scene Supervisor
1997
Gary Miller
Firearms Examiner
1995
Donald Perricone
Detective
1991
Rudolph Voight
Detective
1993
Larry Warehime
Detetive
1987
 

 Documents

 
  
  
Emergency Wrecker Requirements.pdfEmergency Wrecker Requirements
Property Release Form.pdfProperty Release Form
Tow Log.docTow Log
Vehicle Impoundment Form.docVehicle Impoundment Form
Vehicle Release Form.pdfVehicle Release Form
Address
Hours
Follow
Phone

8 am - 5 pm

Monday - Friday​

Follow us on:

Investigations (316) 268-4407

Email the Wichita Police Department

Emergency dial 911​

Website Policy  |  User Login