Sign In

Delano's Design Advisory Committee

Delano's Design Advisory Committee is composed of volunteer members appointed by the City Manager. The committee includes representation from the Delano Business Association, the Delano Clergy Association, the Delano Neighborhood Association, the Delano Development Corporation, the Wichita Historic Preservation Board, the District IV Advisory Board, the Metropolitan Area Planning Commission, the Wichita Area Builders Association, the Wichita Independent Business Association, or the successors of such, or any other organization with a substantial interest in the Delano district.

The Design Advisory Committee is responsible for advising Delano's Design Review Committee on all decisions pertaining to those applications submitted within the Delano Neighborhood Overlay District that do not conform to the requirements of the Delano Neighborhood Design Guidelines. The guidelines are located within the Unified Zoning Code under the Appendices and Supplements section of the Code. The Design Review Committee is composed of the Planning Director, the Zoning Administrator, and the Historic Preservation Officer.

The Delano Neighborhood Overlay District, Section III-C.8 of the Wichita-Sedgwick County Unified Zoning Code and adopted by Ordinance No. 45-695, is intended to preserve, enhance, and promote the character of the Delano neighborhood as prescribed in the Delano Neighborhood Revitalization Plan. Property development within the District shall comply with the Delano Neighborhood Design Guidelines, the standards of this District, and the standards of the underlying zoning district. The design review provisions applicable within the District are intended to recognize the special architectural character and proposed land-use mix of the Delano neighborhood, and to protect the private property values and public investments in the Delano Neighborhood.

Meeting Options to Participate

The Wichita-Sedgwick County Planning Commission meetings are open to the public.

Attend In Person

You may attend the meeting in person at the Ronald Reagan Building on the 2nd floor, in Conference Room #203. (271 W 3rd. Street, Wichita, KS 67202)

Submit Public Comments Ahead of Time

You can submit comments regarding items on the Planning Commission agenda to the Planning Department. Comments must be received by the Planning Department no later than 5 p.m. on Monday, three (3) days prior to the meeting. Comments submitted after the deadline will not be considered. The comment should indicate their name, address, which item they pertain to and be less than three (3) minutes in duration. The comments can be submitted in the following formats: emails, letters. The comments should be submitted to Planning Department staff who is assigned to that case.  Please be sure to provide ample time for delivery.

If you have any written or visual materials like photos (jpeg, etc.), videos (mp4, etc.), powerpoints or audio messages (mp3, etc.) you wish to present, please contact Planning Department graphics staff Paul Schiffelbein (call: 316-268-4464 or email: by 5pm, 3 days prior to the meeting. The comments received ahead of the submission deadline will be shared with the MAPC, prior to or during the meeting.

Accommodations pursuant to the American Disabilities Act (ADA)

Please contact planning staff with one week prior to the scheduled meeting.

Design Advisory Committee Members

​Name ​Representing ​Email
​Brent Miller
Delano Business​ Email Brent
​Cathy Holley
Delano Clergy Association​ ​Email Cathy
​Vincent Hancock
Delano Neighborhood Association​ Email Vincent
​Chris Parisho
​Delano United
​Email Chris
​John Rhodes
​Wichita Historic Preservation Board
​Email John R.
​Mistie Sifford
​District IV Advisory Board
Email Mistie
​Rob Hartman
​Email Rob
​Wess Galyon
​Wichita Area Builders Association
​Email Wess
​John Todd
​Wichita Independent Business Association
Email John T.
​Jeff Fluhr
Open Seat​ Email Jeff

Meeting Calendar

Meetings of the Delano: Design Advisory Committee are scheduled as needed. Agendas for scheduled meetings will be posted below. Meetings are held in the Planning Department Conference Room on the 2nd floor of The Ronald Reagan Building, 271 W 3rd Street, Wichita, Kansas. Meetings of the Delano: Design Advisory Committee are public.

Agendas & Minutes

expand Year : 2023 ‎(2)
expand Year : 2022 ‎(2)
expand Year : 2021 ‎(2)