Excellence in Public Service Award

The Excellence in Public Service Award recognizes employees from City of Wichita, Sedgwick County and Wichita Public Schools who exhibit the highest standard of service - go beyond the call of duty and demonstrate the following:

  • Exemplary performance that has contributed to the public interest;
  • Innovative problem-solving skills that have improved service delivery;
  • Adherence to high ethical standards in carrying out job responsibilities;
  • A record of community involvement through participation in civic organizations.

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of nine public and private sector representatives. In April they are surprised at work by their supervisors, colleagues, selection committee members and media. The winners receive $2,500 and are honored at a reception attended by family, friends, co-workers, previous honorees, the selection committee and members of the DeVore Foundation in May. The Excellence in Public Service Award is sponsored by the DeVore Foundation and KSN.

2023 Nominations Are Open February 7 through 24

Nominate a City, County or USD 259 employee who exhibits excellent public service and community involvement.

Nominations may be submitted online or via printed forms.

Nomination deadline is 5 pm on Thursday, February 29, 2023.

Past City Winners

2023Sean JonesCommunications Specialist, Wichita Public Library
2022Reggie DavidsonSuperintendent of Recreation, Park & Recreation
2021Chief Stacey WespiMedical Chief, Wichita Fire Department
2021Kristina RoseAssistant Controller, Finance
2019Carmen JohnsonSenior Accountant, Finance
2018Van WilliamsPublic Information Officer, City Manager's Office
2017Rebecca LewisWastewater Division Manager, Public Works and Utilities
2016David McGuirePark Maintenance and Forestry Division Manager, Park & Recreation
2015Vallery FieldsSenior Program Specialist, Wichita Transit
2014Shirley RogersDivision Supervisor, Public Works and Utilities
2013Captain John SpeerCaptain, Wichita Police Department
2012Joe PajorAssistant Director, Public Works and Utilities
2011Mary Kay VaughnDirector, Housing & Community Services
2010Officer Justin WhyteWichita Police Department
2009Mark ManningFinance
2008Sgt. James EspinozaCommunity Policing, Wichita Police Department
2007Cynthia BernerDirector, Wichita Public Library
2006Alexis RobinsonPolice Officer, Wichita Police Department
2005Mike GreeneEngineering
2004Ramon MachainPolice Officer, Wichita Police Department
2003John D'AngeloCityArts Director, Division of Cultural Arts
2002Ron HuntWichita Police Department
2001Anthony BambergerWichita Police Department
2000Terri DozalCity Manager's Office
1999Ron BlackwellFire Marshal, Wichita Fire Department
1998Misty BrucknerActing Citizen Participation Organization Coordinator
1997Mark DillCLEAN Team Coordinator
1996Chief Robert ThompsonPublic Fire Education, Wichita Fire Department
1996Jack BrownEnvironmental Health
1995Chief Larry GarciaChief, Wichita Fire Department
1994Charles CoykendallMaintenance Mechanic
1994Sharon HamrickAssistant to City Manager
1992Chief Paul DextrasBattalion Fire Chief, Wichita Fire Department
1991Detective Donald MundayWichita Police Department
1990Robert GressNaturalist and Director of Wichita Wild
1989David GrimmHelicopter Mechanic, Wichita Police Department
1988Michael RuddWichita Fire Department