The Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department is responsible for processing annexations for the City of Wichita and assisting with the review of annexations for Sedgwick County.

In the case of municipalities, annexation is generally the act of adding land(s) to the corporate limits of a city. The State of Kansas allows three times of annexation per K.S.A. Supp.12-519 et swq.

  • Unilateral annexation without landowner consent pursuant to K.S.A. Supp 12-520(a)(1)-6;
  • County-approved annexations without landowner consent pursuant to K.S.A. Supp. 12-521; and
  • Landowner consent annexations pursuant to K.S.A. Supp. 12-520(a)(7) (for land adjoining a city) and K.S.A. 12-520c (for land not adjoining the city).