Metropolitan Area Planning Commission

To find the agenda and minutes, please visit the agenda center.


Wichita City Council Appointees

NameCommitteeDistrictAddressAppointedCurrent Term
Ann FoxSubdivisionMayorColwich (67030)August 18, 2020April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2024
John Williams-BeySubdivisionCouncil District IWichita (67214)April 1, 2022April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2024
John McKay Jr.Advance PlansCouncil District IIWichita (67202)June 23, 2020 (reappointed)April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2024
Cindy MilesAdvance Plans, Subdivision AlternateCouncil District IIIWichita (67216)April 14, 2020 (reappointed)April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2024
Tony ZimbelmanAdvance PlansCouncil District IVWichita (67215)October 4, 2023April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2024
Bryan FryeSubdivisionCouncil District VWichita January 24, 2024April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2024
Debra Foster, MAPC Vice ChairAdvance PlansCouncil District VIWichita (67213)March 2, 2021 (reappointed)April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2024

Sedgwick County Commission Appointees

NameCommitteeDistrictAddressAppointedCurrent Term
Joe JohnsonAdvance PlansDistrict IWichita (67202)September 4, 2019 (reappointed)9/04/2019-August 31, 2023
Joshua BlickSubdivisionDistrict IIWichita (67213)October 11, 2017September 1, 2021 to August 31, 2025
Bill Johnson Subdivision, ChairDistrict IIIMaize (67101)October 11, 2017October 11, 2017 to August 31, 2025
Bob AldrichSubdivisionDistrict IVWichita (67203)February 22, 2023February 23, 2023 to January 18, 2026
Chuck WarrenAdvance PlansDistrict VDerby (67037)September 2, 2020 (reappointed)September 1, 2020 to August 31, 2024
Bob Dool, MAPC ChairAdvance Plans Chair, Subdivision AlternateAt-LargeWichita (67206)September 4, 2019 (reappointed)September 4, 2019 to August 31, 2023
Hugh NicksAdvance PlansAt-LargeMaize (67101)September 18, 2019September 18, 2019 to August 31, 2023



The Wichita-Sedgwick County Planning Commission was created through City Ordinance 29-610, County Resolution Number 135-1967; and an Interlocal agreement between Wichita and Sedgwick County.

Sedgwick County - Wichita Interlocal Agreement (PDF)

What We Do

The Planning Commission reviews and makes recommendations on planning cases to the governing bodies. The Planning Commission also plays an influential role in implementing The Community Investments Plan, the Comprehensive Plan for Wichita-Sedgwick County. Planning Commissioners spend additional hours outside of meetings studying and preparing for agenda items.

Board Members

The Planning Commission is comprised of a group of 14 local residents that are interested in the future of Wichita and unincorporated Sedgwick County.

Wichita City Council members and the Mayor appoint seven members to the Planning Commission, while Sedgwick County Commissioners appoint the other seven members.

  • Commissioners appointed by the Wichita City Council serve 2-year terms with the potential to serve four consecutive terms.
  • Commissioners appointed by the Board of County Commissioners serve 4-year terms and until their successors have been duly appointed.

Openings on the Planning Commission will be announced by the City and County, along with notice of opportunities for individuals to submit applications to be considered for appointment to the Planning Commission.

Subcommittees & Board of Zoning Appeals

Planning Commissioners also serve on either the Advance Plans or Subdivision Sub-Committee of the Wichita-Sedgwick County Planning Commission, as well as on the Wichita-Sedgwick County Board of Zoning Appeals.

How We Operate

The Planning Commission has adopted bylaws that are written policies that guide the Planning Commission's processes and actions.

MAPC Bylaws - September 15, 2022 (PDF)

Consent Approvals

The Planning Commission may select to approve items by consent, this typically occurs if they have not received an indication that someone wants to hear those items. Consent approval means that one or more items are approved by the Planning Commission in a single motion - without a staff presentation, applicant presentation, or public comment. In order to determine which items will be considered for consent approval, the Planning Commission Chairperson will call off each item on the agenda - asking if any member of the Planning Commission or public wants to hear that item.

The meetings are returning to in-person meetings without virtual participation option. 

Ways to participate:

1. Attend the Meeting In-person

Located at the Ronald Reagan Building on the second floor in Conference Room #203. (271 W 3rd St N, Wichita, KS 67202)

2. Submit Public Comments Ahead of Time

You can submit comments regarding items on the Planning Commission agenda to the Planning Department. Comments must be received by the Planning Department no later than 5 p.m. three (3) days prior to the meeting. Comments submitted after the deadline will not be considered. The comment should indicate which item they pertain to and be less than three (3) minutes in duration.

The comments can be submitted in the following formats: email, letter, printed or digital photos (jpeg, etc.), video, and audio message (mp3, etc.). The comments should be submitted to Planning Department staff using the contact information below. Please be sure to provide ample time for delivery. The comments received ahead of the submission deadline will be shared with the MAPC, prior to or during the meeting.

YouTube Livestream

 To view the livestreamed meeting and previous recordings, please go to Wichita-Sedgwick County Planning YouTube Channel.

Meeting Videos


MAPC Policies 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 no longer apply.