Sign In

Excellence in Public Service Award

​The Excellence in Public Service Award recognizes employees from City of Wichita, Sedgwick County and Wichita Public Schools who exhibit the highest standard of service - go beyond the call of duty and demonstrate the following:

  • Exemplary performance that has contributed to the public interest;
  • Innovative problem-solving skills that have improved service delivery;
  • Adherence to high ethical standards in carrying out job responsibilities;
  • A record of community involvement through participation in civic organizations.

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of nine public and private sector representatives. In April they are surprised at work by their supervisors, colleagues, selection committee members and media. The winners receive $2,500 and are honored at a reception attended by family, friends, co-workers, previous honorees, the selection committee and members of the DeVore Foundation in May. The Excellence in Public Service Award is sponsored by the DeVore Foundation and KSN.

2023 Nominations Are Open February 1-24

Nominate a City, County or USD 259 employee who exhibits excellent public service and community involvement.

Nominations may be submitted online or via printed forms.

Nomination deadline is 5 p.m. on Friday, February 24, 2023.


Nominations are now closed.

Past City Winners

​Year ​Name ​Department
​2022 ​Reggie Davidson
Superintendent of Recreation, Park & Recreation
​2021​Chief Stacey Wespi
​Medical Chief, Wichita Fire Department
​2021​Kristina Rose
​Assistant Controller, Finance
​2019​Carmen Johnson
​Senior Accountant, Finance
​2018​Van Williams
​Public Information Officer, City Manager's Office
​2017​Rebecca Lewis
​Wastewater Division Manager, Public Works & Utilities
​2016​David McGuire
​Park Maintenance and Forestry Division Manager, Park & Recreation
​2015​Vallery Fields
​Senior Program Specialist, Wichita Transit
​2014​Shirley Rogers
​Division Supervisor, Public Works & Utilities
​2013​Captain John Speer
​Captain, Wichita Police Department
​2012​Joe Pajor
​Assistant Director, Public Works & Utilities
​2011​Mary Kay Vaughn
​Director, Housing & Community Services
​2010​Officer Justin Whyte
​Wichita Police Department
​2009​Mark Manning
​2008​Sgt. James Espinoza
​Community Policing, Wichita Police Department
​2007​Cynthia Berner
​Director, Wichita Public Library
​2006​Alexis Robinson
​Police Officer, Wichita Police Department
​2005​Mike Greene
​2004​Ramon Machain
​Police Officer, Wichita Police Department
​2003​John D'Angelo
​CityArts Director, Division of Cultural Arts
​2002​Ron Hunt
​Wichita Police Department
​2001​Anthony Bamberger
​Wichita Police Department
​2000​Terri Dozal
​City Manager's Office
​1999​Ron Blackwell
​Fire Marshal, Wichita Fire Department
​1998​Misty Bruckner
​Acting Citizen Participation Organization Coordinator
​1997​Mark Dill
​CLEAN Team Coordinator
​1996​Chief Robert Thompson
​Public Fire Education, Wichita Fire Department
​1996​Jack Brown
​Environmental Health
​1995Chief Larry Garcia
​Chief, Wichita Fire Department
​1994​Charles Coykendall
​Maintenance Mechanic
​1994​Sharon Hamrick
​Assistant to City Manager
​1992​Chief Paul Dextras
​Battalion Fire Chief, Wichita Fire Department
​1991​Detective Donald Munday
​Wichita Police Department
​1990​Robert Gress
​Naturalist and Director of Wichita Wild
​1989​David Grimm
​Helicopter Mechanic, Wichita Police Department
​1988​Michael Rudd
​Wichita Fire Department