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210.01

Each member of the Wichita Police Department shall comply with all State and Federal training mandates that are
applicable to his/her position.

K.S.A. 74-35607a (b) Each certified Kansas officer must, beginning the second year after receiving certification, and to
retain his or her certification, satisfy all in-service training requirement. After satisfactory completion of a basic law
enforcement training course for full-time law enforcement or police officers (officers employed by a state, county, or
city who work at least 1,000 hours annually) a Kansas officer must receive 40 hours of law enforcement training
annually. K.S.A. 74-5607a (b} states:

A,

"Beginning the second year after certification, every fuil-time police officer or law enforcement officer shall
complete annually 40 hours of law enforcement education or fraining in subjects relating directly to law
enforcement. Failure to complete such training shall be grounds for suspension of a certificate issued under the
Kansas law enforcement training act until such training is completed. The director with the approval of the
commission shall adopt rules and regulations regarding such education or training. Such education or training
may include procedures for law enforcement to follow when responding to an ailegation of stalking. Every city,
county and state agency shall annually send to the director certified reports of the completion of such education
or training. The commission shall maintain & record of the reports in the central registry.”

Any officer unable to fulfill the forty (40) hours of required annual in-service training shall submit an Officer’s
Report [through channels] to the Chief of Police. Based on the circumstances, the Chief may authorize the
Training Burean Commander to request an extension or waiver for the annual In-Service Training requirements
from the Kansas Commission of Peace Officer’s Standards and Training who may extend, waive or modify the
annual continuing education requirement, when it is shown that the failure to comply with the requirements was
not due to the intentional avoidance of the law. The officer may be placed in a temporary non-police officer or
law enforcement assignment until the remaining hours are obtained.

K.S.A. 22-4610{2) (A) The agency policies shall require annual racial or other biased-based policing training
which shall include, but not be limited to, training relevant to racial or other biased-based policing. Distance
learning training technology shall be allowed for racial or other biased-based policing training.

Hazardous Materials Training:

The Kansas Commission on Peace Officers Standards and Training (KS-CPOST) now considers in-service
hazardous materials training as a matter to be determined at the local level. The Commission reminds agencies;
however, that federal law requires some annual refresher training, or annual demonstration of competency.

Any person who provides Hazardous Materials training shail have successfully completed a training course, such
as courses offered by the U.S. Fire Academy, for teaching such subject matter, or shall possess the
training/academic credemtials and instructional experience necessary to demonstrate competent knowledge of the
subject matter and instructional skills.

The National Incident Management System (NIMS) and Homeland Security Presidential Directives (#5 & #8)
require full imptementation of NIMS-related training which includes:

1. IS-700 - An Introduction to NiMS$S
All personnel with a direct role in emergency preparedness, incident management or response must
complete this training.

2. 18-800 B — An Introduction to the National Response Framework
All mid-level management, federal, state, local, tribai, private sector and non-governmental personnel to
include persons serving as command staff, section chiefs, strike team leaders, task force leaders, unit
leaders, division/group supervisors, branch directors and multi-agency coordination system/emergency
operations center staff. (Police Licutenants, Captains, Deputy Chiefs and Chief).

3. 1CS-100 - Introduction to Incident Command System
All federal, state, territorial, local, tribal, private sector and non-governmental personnel at the entry level,
first line supervisor level, middle management level and command and general staff level of emergency
management operations must complete 1CS-200 level training.

4, ICS-200 - Incident Command System for Single Resources and Initial Action Incidents
All federal, state, territorial, tribal, private sector and non-government personnel at the following levels of

responsibility in emergency management operations — first-line supervisor (Sergeant), mid-level
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management (Lientenant), and command (Captain, Deputy Chief, Chief) and general staff
(Operations/Planning/Logistics/Finance-Administration).

5. 1C8-300 —Intermediate 1.C.8. for Expanding Incidents
All mid-fevel management, federal, state, local, tribal, private sector and non-governmental personnel to
include persons serving as command staff, section chiefs, strike team leaders, task force leaders, unit
feaders, division/group supervisors, branch directors and multi-agency coordination system/emergency
operations center staff. (Police Lieutenants, Captains, Deputy Chiefs and Chief).

6. 1CS-400 — Advanced 1.C.S,, Command and General Staff or Complex Incidents
All federal, state, local, tribal, private sector and non-governmental personnel to include persons who will
serve as command or general staff in an 1C.S. organization, select department heads with multi-agency
coordination system responsibilities, area commanders, emergency managers and multi-agency coordination
system/emergency operations center managers. (Police Captains, Deputy Chiefs, Chief).

The Chief of Police is responsible for providing the opportunity for every officer to obtain forty (40) hours of in-
service training annually. However, each individual officer is responsible to obtain the minimum requirement of 40
hours. Officers must receive approval from histher immediate supervisor prior to training to ensure adequate staffing.
The Training Bureau will provide updates on training hour status.

All training must be reviewed and approved by the Training Bureau Commander. The Training Bureau will be
responsible for reporting all in-service training to the Kansas Commission on Peace Officer’s Standards and Training
(KS-CPOST). This includes any training received locally or at remote locations.

TRAINING BUDGET AND ALLOCATIONS

Training Funds shall be allocated by Division within the Division Deputy Chief’s OCA.

Training Funds for the Office of the Chief (PIQ, PSB, & Chief of Police) shail be allocated in the Support Services
Division training budget.

Each Division Commander shall determine the professional development needs and goals of the Bureaus under his/her
Command and allocate training funds to most closely achieve the goals.

Division Commander shall present and justify training funds annually in the SOPs of his/her Division prepared by the
Rureau Commander or the Division Commander.

The Division Commander and the Bureau Captains shall ensure fairness in the allocations and authorizations of
training for employees under his/her command to match professional development goals.

Funding is finite and fairess in allocations may be measured beyond the confines of one calendar/budget year.

REQUESTS FOR TRAINING QR INSTRUCTING

Any member of the Wichita Police Department wha desires to instruct an in-service training course must submit 2
detailed outline of the course material and a brief synopsis of the course to the Training Bureau Commander or his/her
designee prior to the training date, Upon approval by the Training Bureau Commander, the course outline and
synopsis will be filed at the Training Bureau.

Training provided by outside sources may be approved for in-service training credit by the Training Bureau
Commander or the In-service Training Coordinator, based on the credentials of the instructor(s), and applicability of
the course material. Officers shall obtain prior approval for outside training by the Training Bureau Commander or the
ln-service Training Coordinator unless the training is obtained from the source list posted on the police secure training
portal. Officers requesting in-service training credit for outside training will enter the information into the
deparimental In-Service Training database upon receiving approval from their supervisor,

Upon entering the information into the departmental In-Service Training database, the officer will notify his/her
immediate supervisor to ensure his/her supervisor approves the training in the database under the supervisor approval
section. Once the training has been approved by the supervisor, the information will be reviewed by the In-Service
Training Section and entered into the KS-CPOST database.

All officers receiving in-service training provided by the Wichita Police Department will complete the in-service
training roster available in class. The departmental instructor or the In-Service Training Section will enter the
information in the departmental In-Service Training database. The In-Service Training Section will enter the training
into the KS-CPOST database.

When a training class/seminar is offered with a limited number of seats and the registration cost is incurred by the
Wichita Police Departiment, members will be enrolled based on a prioritized list provided by their Burcau Commander
to the In-Service Training Coordinator. The purpose of this process is to ensure that supervisors have adequate
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staffing and have approved the training based on individual need and relevance to the member’s assignment. The
number of positions available to each Bureau will be based on the correlation of the training to the job responsibilities
of that Burean.

The In-Service-Training Coordinator will fill the available positions based on the prioritized lists provided by the
Bureau Commanders.

1t is the responsibility of all supervisors to ensure that relevant training opportunities are equitably distributed among
his/her members.

Entry into the In-Service Training database must be completed within fifteen (15) days after the training concludes,
with all in-service training being reported to the Training Bureau prior to June Ist each year.

The Training Bureau will maintain a roster of all personnel required to obtain in-service training hours, including the
total number of hours completed by each member. This roster shall be posted on the Police Secure Training Portal and
will be updated monthly.

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR IN-SERVICE TRAINING:

A.  Allin-service training must be directly related to a law enforcement topic;

B. Al in-service training must be approved in advance by the Training Bureau Commander or his/her designee with
the exception of training received from the source kst posted on the police sccure training page;

C. Seminars, workshops, and training in other states which are law enforcement related, if properly documented and
approved by the Training Bureau Commander or his/her designee, may be accepted for in-service training credit;

D. According to KS-CPOST guideline 1V (A)1)D), training instructor credit shall be granted only in those
instances where officers teach other officers, or other officers are included in the imstructor’s audience.
Instruction delivered to ron-law enforcement audience will not be applied toward satisfaction of the annual in-
service training requirement. For example, a class taught by an officer to a public school class does not qualify
as nstructor credit for in-service training purposes. Only twenty (20) hours of instructor credit can be used to
satisfy the annual in-service training requirement;

E. According to KS-CPOST guidelines, firearms in-service training and qualifications shall not exceed sixteen (16)
hours annually toward fulfillment of each officer’s forty (40) hour requirement;

F. KS-CPOST In-service training guidelines can be viewed at www kscpost.org/guidelines.htm.

COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY CREDITS:

The guidelines for college/university in-service credits are as follows:

A. Officers planning to use college courses to fulfill in-service training requirements must obtain prior approval
from the Training Bureau Commander or hisfher designee to use the college course toward fuifillment of in-
service training hours;

B. The college credits must be eamed from an accredited college or university and must be approved by the
Training Bureau Commander or his/her designee;

C. The college credits used must be earned during the current in-service training year;
D. The college course must be directly related to law enforcement,
E. Each college credit is equivalent to fifteen (15} in-service training hours;

F. To eamn in-service training credit, an officer must satisfactorily complete the coliege or university course with a
passing grade. The officer shall forward a certified transcript to the In-Service Training Section in order to
receive credit.

All commissioned officers are required to attend training that is designated as mandatory. Any commissioncd officer
that cannot attend mandatory training shall submit an Officer’s Report fthrough channels] to the Chief of Police
requesting an exemption from the training.

MANDATORY CORE COMPENTENCIES REQUIREMENTS

Every job in the City organization requires a combination of skills er “compeiencies.” Many of these competencies
are Jearned on the job, others are learned in the classroom setting. The following will apply to all members of the
Wichita Police Departiment:
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A.  All Wichita Police Department members with the exception of police reserve officers are required to complete,
within three (3) years, Employee Core Competencies training a5 mandated by Human Resources.

B. A member who is assigned a position classified by the City of Wichita Human Resources Department’s job
description as having supervisory responsibilities will be required, within three (3) years, to complete the Human
Resources Effective Supervisory Practices training.

CONDUCT STANDARDS

210.23 During all internal and external training sessions, electronic devices will be turmed off or set to vibrate. Phone calls
may be made during breaks, unless an emergency exists, or the department member is needed for police related
functions (1.e., court, SWAT, EOD, or homicide call out). The use of any computer devises (Laptop, note pad, smart
phones, etc.,} is not permitted during training sessions unless approved by the instructor.

210.24 In-service training is considered the member’s duty assignment for the duration of the training. Department members
will be punctual when reporting for training, and will remain in attendance during the hours of the session, unless
excused by a Training Bureau supervisor. If a department member must leave training prior to the end of the session
he/she will notify a Training Bureau supervisor as to the reason(s).

710.25 In the event a member cannot attend a scheduled training, they will notify their supervisor and the In-Service Training
Coordinator in advance of the scheduled training, The names of officers who fail to attend scheduled training, and
who have not notified the In-Service Training Coordinator through their supervisor, will be forwarded to their Bureau
Commander through the chain of command.

210.26 Acceptable in-service training attire depends upon the nature of the training, as described below:

A.  Any training involving firearms/range activity: blue jeans and tennis shoes are permissible; t-shirts, shorts,
sandals, etc., are not allowed;

B. Any training involving hands-on, defensive tactics instruction: blue jeans, sweat pants, tennis shoes, and t-shirts
are permissible;

C. Al other training sessions, whether held at the WSCLETC or other faciiity: blue jeans, t-shiris and tennis shoes
are not permitted. These restrictions insure that the department’s attire matches the Friday dress guidelines
described in the City of Wichita’s dress guidelines brochure;

.  Any exception to these guidelines must be approved in advance by the Training Bureau Commander, or the

appropriate Bureaw/Division Commander if it involves specialized training activities; i.e., SWAT, EOD, etc.

MULTIMEDIA COMPUTER TRAINING

210.27  According to the KS-CPOST guidelines Section IV (A) {1h), onfy twenty (20) hours, in the apgregate, of
video/computer/multi-media/online e-Learning/satellite-based training may be applied toward partial satisfaction of
the annual in-service training requirement.

210.28  According to KS-CPOST guidelines Section IV (A) (1h2), training received via online e-Learning instructional training
programs utilizing computer-generated or agency-administered testing may be applied toward partial satisfaction of the
annual in-service training requirement if:

A. The training program is conducted on a designated computer in a learning environment such as, but not limited to;
an agency’s designated training classroom, a commaunity college or university, or other recognized training
environment, as approved by the agency head,

B. The training program is approved by the agency head or their designee, and the instructional topic is related
directly 1o law enforcement;

C.  An examination covering the instructional material is administered to the student by the agency head and/or their
designee, or administered via the computer as part of the online e-lcaming class or course, and the student has no
access to the examination or the computer system to affect, alter, or destroy the examination guestions or
examination results;

D. The student achieves a minimum passing score of 70% or above on a examination, scored by the agency head,
their designee, or the computer as part of the online e-learning class. A passing score of 70% or above is reguired
before the training hour(s) received may be applied toward partial satisfaction of the in-service training
requirement.

a. Tested online e-Learning instructional training limit



E’o]icy 210 — In-Service Training j L Page 5 of 5 —! { Issue/Rev.: R {)8-08—2(}161

210.2%9

21030

210.31

Only twenty (20) hours of training via tested online e-Learning instructional training hours may be
apphied toward partial satisfaction of the annual in-service training requirement.

b. Records requirement

If an examination at the completion of the online e-Learning training is administered by the agency head
or designee, the examinations administered, and their results, shall be maintained by the agency for five
years from the date the examination was administered. If the testing occurs as part of the online ¢-
Learning class or course, the agency shall only be required to maintain a record that the officer
successfully completed the class or course. These records shall be made available for inspection upon
request.

Video, surveillance tapes, or photographs depicting persons engaging in criminal behavior who have not, or will not
be charged with a crime, and have not been convicted of a crime may be viewed by law enforcement personnel for
training purposes ONLY. Such materials should NOT be viewed by non-law enforcement personnel or used in
community lectures unless the identities of the participants in the photos can be protected and their appearance
disguised or obliterated.

Video tapes and/or photographs that have been presented in open court may be used for training and can be viewed by
law enforcement or non-law enforcement personnel if a court order has been entered releasing the tapes or
photographs for such purpose, and the District Attorney’s office has no objection to their use in this manner.
However, tapes or photographs that depict persons who have not been convicted of a crime, or have been found not

guilty of a crime, may be used in community presentations only if the identities of the participants in the tapes or
photographs can be protected and their appearance disgnised or obliterated.

In addition, if tapes are to be used in community presentations, employees should always be mindful of the privacy
rights of victims and persons depicted in such tapes that have not been convicted of a crime. While there may be no
violation of criminal law to allow such images (o be scen by the public, there may be civil liability for such activity.
Accordingly, Bureau Commanders should review and approve the use of any tape 1o be presented to the public and
non-law enforcement personnel, keeping in mind these guidelines.

When training presentations are made using photos and/or tapes depicting actual events, participants in the training
class should be reminded that the contents of the tapes and/or photos are not to be discussed with or described to
persons outside of the law enforcement community.



