Sign In

Arts Council Names 2010 Art Award Recipients

Contact: Judy Goodpasture, Arts Council Chair |

The Arts Council announces the selection of 11 recipients for the 2010 Art Awards, given each year to individuals, cultural organizations and businesses who have made outstanding contributions to the community through their work in or support of the arts. The awards will be presented at the 41st annual Art Awards Dinner to be held Thursday, Oct. 21 at the Mid-America All-Indian Center, 650 N. Seneca. A complete list of award winners is included below.

The evening begins with a reception at 5:30 p.m. with dinner and the awards presentation following.

Tickets are $25 for Arts Council members, $30 per person for non-members and $250 for a table of 10. Tickets may be purchased through WichitaTIX by calling (316) 219-4849 or ordered on-line at

The 2010 Art Awards recipients are:

Individual Artist Award: Todd Whipple
Given to an artist actively working is such categories as choreography, music composition, film/video, theatre, interdisciplinary/performance art, two-dimensional visual art and/or three-dimensional visual art, who has shown outstanding achievement.

Arts Educator: Tara Walker
Given to an individual who has devoted a career to teaching the arts in an educational environment.

Youth Recognition Award: Thomas Murillo
Given to a high school and/or middle school student who has shown outstanding achievement and development in the arts.

Arts Organization Award: Wichita Symphony Orchestra
Given to a public, not-for-profit organization that presents or provides arts opportunities to the Wichita community and region.

Arts Advocate Group Award: Plymouth Congregational Church
Given to an organization dedicated to furthering the cause of an art form or the arts in general through promotional, volunteer, administrative, legislative or professional efforts.

Business Award: Cessna Aircraft Corporation
Given to a business or foundation providing broad-based and continued support of the arts through its operation or other foundation funds.

Burton Pell Award: Eric Crawford
Given in memory of Mr. Pell, a long-time member and past president of the Arts Council, to an outstanding individual in music.

Special Project Award: First Fridays – Adam Hartke, Lead Organizer
Given to an individual, neighborhood, business, corporation or group that has provided support for a single event or project.

Special Recognition Award: Mid-America All-Indian Center
Given for the dramatic success of efforts to revitalize and improve the administrative and promotional efforts of the Mid-America All-Indian Center.

Chris Cherches Award: Keeper of the Plains Plaza Project – Law/Kingdon Architects
Given to honor excellence in public art. The award is in honor of Christ Cherches, Wichita’s city manager for 18 years, who was a strong advocate for the arts.

Gordon Evans Award: Georgia Stevens
Given to a patron demonstrating outstanding leadership and special support for the arts.

The Arts Council was officially designated by the City of Wichita in 1999 to serve as the focal point for coordinating and promoting the visibility of all cultural arts in the community. Working closely with the City’s Department of Arts and Cultural Services, its mission is to advance and promote arts and culture in the Wichita community through advocacy, leadership, education and collaboration. To learn more about the Arts Council or to become a member, please visit

City of Wichita logo

Visiting City Hall?

​City Hall
455​ N Main, 13th Floor
Wichita, KS 67202​

Where do I park?

Security Guidelines

City Hall Hours

8am - 5pm (M-F)

List of holiday ​closures

​Contact Us

Got a question? Chat live with a customer service rep

Website questions? Email the ​Webmaste​​r ​​​​​​

Media questions? Email City ​Communications