Sign In

City Manager’s Review Board Named

Contact: Van Williams |

City Manager Robert Layton today announced new members of the City Manager Review Board. The review board serves to further enhance the level of trust between the Wichita Police Department and the community. The new members were appointed by the City Manager with input from Wichita Mayor Carl Brewer and City Council members. The membership is intended to be representative of the community, with at least one member from each of the City’s Council districts. The Review Board’s responsibilities include the following:

  • Assist the City Manager and Police Chief in understanding community issues related to policing and in developing an active citizen/police partnership in the prevention of crime.
  • Review the results of completed departmental investigations of formal citizen complaints.
  • Review the results of completed departmental investigations related to allegations of excessive use of force, racial profiling and other matters of community concern.
  • Conduct appeal hearings for complainants disagreeing with the findings of an official Professional Standards Bureau Administrative Investigation.
  • Review existing Police Department policies, procedures and practices as requested by the City Manager.
  • Advise the City Manager in writing of its findings and recommendations.

The City Manager’s Review Board will meet quarterly or more frequently if a formal appeal is filed.

The following persons have agreed to serve on the Review Board:

Pastor Timothy L. Sims (District I)
Sims is the pastor of Progressive Missionary Baptist Church. He received formal ministry training at the Open Door Baptist Bible College and the C.H. Mason School of Ministry, receiving his “certificate of ordination” in June of 1991. He is a 1978 graduate from the Wyandotte High School and a 1980 graduate from the Kansas City, Kansas Community College. He has an associate degree in business administration

Brian Carduff (District II)
Carduff is the president and owner of Baysinger Police Supply. He earned a bachelor’s degree in entrepreneurship from Wichita State University. He has served on the District II Advisory Board (DAB) the past six years. He has served on several other boards including the YMCA.

David Robbins (District III)
Robbins is retired. He is former president of Robbins Truck Trailer Sales and he’s held positions with the Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services, Sperry Flight Systems, Boeing Wichita, Watkins, Inc. and DeVore & Sons. He is a former Park City Council Member and Council President. He is a Transit Advisory Board Member.

Michael Ackerman, Jr. (District IV)
Ackerman is president and owner of Michael's Complete Lawn Care Inc. He is a graduate of Calvary Chapel Christian School. He is member of the District IV District Advisory Board.

Jason Watkins (District V)
Watkins is the Director of Government Relations for the Wichita Metro Chamber of Commerce. Before joining the Wichita Chamber, Watkins spent six years in the Kansas Legislature representing northwest Wichita.

Jaya Escobar (District VI)
Escobar is Academic Director at Hope Street Youth Development. She has worked for Junior Achievement and USD 259. A graduate of Topeka’s Washburn Rural High School, she earned a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from Wichita State University. She has served on several boards and worked with local non-profit organizations.

Sheila Officer (At Large)
Officer is the Education and Training Coordinator with Goodwill Industries of Kansas. She has worked as a probation officer, paralegal and a USD 259 substitute teacher. She earned a bachelor’s degree in Administration of Justice from Wichita State University and a master’s degree in Human Resource Organization and Development from Webster University. She currently serves on the Racial Profiling Citizens Advisory Board for the City of Wichita.

Kevin Myles (At large)
Myles is President of the Kansas State Conference of the NAACP and President of the Wichita Branch NAACP. He is a member of the Mensa National Board of Directors. He is the Director of Fleet Management for Sedgwick County Government. He serves on several task forces and advisory boards.

Shala Jean Perez (At large)
Perez teaches administration of justice courses for Butler County Community College. She is the project director for the Governor’s Task Force on Racial Profiling and has served on the Kansas Hispanic and Latino American Affairs Commission. Her public service career includes law enforcement, juvenile corrections, teaching and work in the non-profit sector.

City of Wichita logo

Visiting City Hall?

​City Hall
455​ N Main, 13th Floor
Wichita, KS 67202​

Where do I park?

Security Guidelines

City Hall Hours

8am - 5pm (M-F)

List of holiday ​closures

​Contact Us

Got a question? Chat live with a customer service rep

Website questions? Email the ​Webmaste​​r ​​​​​​

Media questions? Email City ​Communications