Sign In

City Reviews District Boundaries, per Ordinance

Contact: Communications Team |

City of Wichita officials are reviewing City Council district boundaries, as required every 10 years under Charter Ordinance 173. The review allows district populations to be adjusted under constitutional, equal-representation mandates following each 10-year census.

The process for reviewing district boundaries began in July and must end before December 31, 2012. Redistricting requires new districts to be adjusted so that the population of each district is within 5% of the average district size reflected in census data.

Charter Ordinance 173 also requires City Council members to appoint Commission of Electors who are charged with helping review and possibly revise Council districts. Following are the Commission of Electors who were appointed in July:

  • Misty Bruckner (Carl Brewer, Mayor)
  • Bonita Gooch (Lavonta Williams, District I);
  • Steve Harris (Pete Meitzner, District II);
  • David Robbins (appointed by James Clendenin, District III);
  • Joshua Blick (Michael O’Donnell, District IV);
  • Mike Greene (Jeff Longwell, District V) and;
  • Sharon Fearey (Janet Miller, District VI)

The Commission of Electors will meet regularly at City Hall, 455 N. Main. The upcoming scheduled meeting is 2 p.m. on Aug. 16 in the 11th floor conference room. Please see attachment for future meeting times and specific locations. On or before Dec. 31 of each redistricting year (every 10 years), City Council members will, in whole or part, re-establish or reject the district boundaries recommended by the Commission of Electors.

If revised district boundaries result in an incumbent City Council member residing outside that member's existing district, the affected Council member will continue to serve until the completion of the elected term.

During the district boundary review process, related information will be available at; Cox Cable Channel 7, or City7; and City Facebook and Twitter sites.

For more details regarding Charter Ordinance 173 or redistricting, please contact Chief Deputy City Attorney Sharon Dickgrafe at 268-4681 or Director of Planning John Schlegel at 268-4425.

City of Wichita logo

Visiting City Hall?

​City Hall
455​ N Main, 13th Floor
Wichita, KS 67202​

Where do I park?

Security Guidelines

City Hall Hours

8am - 5pm (M-F)

List of holiday ​closures

​Contact Us

Got a question? Chat live with a customer service rep

Website questions? Email the ​Webmaste​​r ​​​​​​

Media questions? Email City ​Communications