Sign In

Council Members Williams, Clendenin Appointed to NLC Steering Committee

Contact: Dale Goter, Government Relations Manager |

Wichita City Council Members Lavonta Williams and James Clendenin have been appointed to the National League of Cities (NLC) 2013 Community and Economic Development (CED) Steering Committee.

The announcement was made this week by NLC President Marie Lopez Rogers, Mayor, Avondale, Arizona.

The CED Steering Committee has the lead responsibility for developing NLC federal policy positions on issues involving housing, community and economic development, land use, recreation and parks, historic preservation, and international competitiveness.

As members of the committee, Council Members Williams and Clendenin will play a key role in shaping NLC’s policy positions, while advocating on behalf of America’s cities and towns on Capitol Hill, with the Administration and at home.

The chair of this year’s Community and Economic Development Committee is Frank (Tony) Thomas, Council Chair, Savannah, GA. Serving as this year’s vice chairs are Ronald Garcia, Council Member, Brea, CA and Priscilla Tyson, Council Member, Columbus, OH.

For more information on NLC’s other committees and councils, visit

The National League of Cities is the nation’s oldest and largest organization, devoted to strengthening and promoting cities as centers of opportunity, leadership and governance. NLC is a resource and advocate for 19,000 cities, towns and villages, representing more than 218 million Americans.

City of Wichita logo

Visiting City Hall?

​City Hall
455​ N Main, 13th Floor
Wichita, KS 67202​

Where do I park?

Security Guidelines

City Hall Hours

8am - 5pm (M-F)

List of holiday ​closures

​Contact Us

Got a question? Chat live with a customer service rep

Website questions? Email the ​Webmaste​​r ​​​​​​

Media questions? Email City ​Communications