Sign In

City-County Planning Director Hired

Contact: Communications |

City of Wichita and Sedgwick County officials on Friday announced Dale Miller has been appointed head of the Metropolitan Area Planning Department (MAPD), which serves the City and County regarding land use, community facilities, and infrastructure needs.

Miller has served as a professional planner in the City-County department since August 1987. He’s been a Principal Planner, a Chief Planner, a Plans Manager and an acting Planning Director. He also served as a Senior Planner in Norman, OK from 1983-1987 and an Associate Planner in Oklahoma City from 1981-1983. He received a bachelors of science in education degree (1979) and a masters of regional and city planning (1981) from the University of Oklahoma.

“The Sedgwick County Board of Commissioners and I are excited to select Dale Miller as the next leader of our joint planning operation,” City Manager Robert Layton said. “Dale brings a wealth of knowledge about important planning issues facing our region and his experience helps position us for a prosperous future. He is well respected by our local development community and is committed to improving our development climate.”

As the top MAPD official, Miller’s duties include reviewing zoning and subpision applications, implementing the City-County comprehensive plan, advising officials on capital improvement priorities, and presenting plans, reports and recommendations to the Metropolitan Area Planning Commission and other public bodies.

“I‘m eager to serve in my new role,” Miller said. “I’m looking forward to working with everyone to implement the City’s and County’s land-use goals.”

Miller will oversee a nearly $1.8 million budget and approximately 18 employees. MAPD is funded equally by the City and County, with program fees, service fees, and state and federal grants.

MAPD includes 12 professional planners and support staff with three pisions: Administration; Advanced Plans and Current Plans. In addition, it provides support for the Metropolitan Area Planning Commission, the Subpision Committee, the Historic Preservation Board, the Wichita/Sedgwick County Board of Zoning Appeals, the Advanced Plans Committee, Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee and the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Board.

Miller succeeds John Schlegel who retired earlier this year.​​​​

City of Wichita logo

Visiting City Hall?

​City Hall
455​ N Main, 13th Floor
Wichita, KS 67202​

Where do I park?

Security Guidelines

City Hall Hours

8am - 5pm (M-F)

List of holiday ​closures

​Contact Us

Got a question? Chat live with a customer service rep

Website questions? Email the ​Webmaste​​r ​​​​​​

Media questions? Email City ​Communications