Sign In

Kansas Mayors Meet, Honor Mayor of the Year

Contact: Megan Gilliland, Communications & Education Manager |

​Group Meets Virtually and Selects New Leadership

Recently, the Kansas Mayors Association (KMA) held their annual meeting virtually and honored the City of Ellis Mayor, David McDaniel, as the 2020 Mayor of the Year. The Mayor of the Year honor recognizes a Kansas mayor who has uniquely contributed to their community and the Kansas Mayor’s Association. Additionally, the KMA named Rex Satterthwaite, City of Bentley Mayor, as their new President for 2020-2021.

"I am honored to be recognized by my fellow mayors from across the state,” said McDaniel. “Public service and serving my community is my greatest pleasure."David moved to Ellis in 1972 when he purchased a small business offering hardware supplies, appliances and home improvement services. For decades, David has engaged himself in the community and has become a leader in many sectors including business, government, education and religious efforts. David is a strong advocate for our City and believes in positive and progressive growth. He has been instrumental in our community’s long-range planning efforts, encourages public-private partnerships and collaboration with other governmental entities to secure necessary resources for Ellis.

Among David’s most important efforts is his tireless work to address our community’s access to safe water. David has been a leader in this effort since 2005. At that time, he was instrumental in guiding the City Council to address the poor water quality of city wells. His leadership resulted in the subsequent development of a water treatment plant for the City. With the recent purchase of a water well field for the City of Ellis, he continues to lead efforts to plan the development of the distribution system to supplement and upgrade our existing water supply.

He serves on the League’s Governing Body and served as the Kansas Mayors Association President from 2018 to 2019.

The 2020 KMA Board of Directors are:

  • President – Rex Satterthwaite, City of Bentley 
  • 1st Vice President –Brandon Whipple, City of Wichita
  • 2nd Vice President – David McDaniel, City of Ellis
  • Past President – Michael Smith, City of Lansing
  • NW Representative – Gary Adrian, City of Colby
  • NC Representative – Dave McDaniel, City of Ellis
  • NE Representative – Lucy Thomas, City of Valley Falls
  • SW Representative – Everett Green, City of Scott City
  • SC Representative – Julie Lyon, City of Stafford
  • SE Representative –Grant Spieth, City of Columbus
Established by municipal officials in 1910, the League of Kansas Municipalities is a voluntary, nonpartisan organization of over 500 Kansas cities. The League works for its member cities through advocacy, legal advice, education and other services.  Follow the League of Kansas Municipalities on Facebook or Twitter.
City of Wichita logo

Visiting City Hall?

​City Hall
455​ N Main, 13th Floor
Wichita, KS 67202​

Where do I park?

Security Guidelines

City Hall Hours

8am - 5pm (M-F)

List of holiday ​closures

​Contact Us

Got a question? Chat live with a customer service rep

Website questions? Email the ​Webmaste​​r ​​​​​​

Media questions? Email City ​Communications